A brief history of MCLIU

AGSEM, the Association of Graduate Students Employed at McGill, first became a union in 1993 with the certification of the university’s teaching assistants. In March 2010, invigilators (Unit II of AGSEM) were accredited.

Course lecturers and instructors at McGill won accreditation in August 2011 as the third unit of AGSEM. On October 17, 2013 the union voted with a unanimous vote to allow McGill Course Lecturers and Instructors Union (MCLIU) to exclusively represent course lecturers and instructors employed at McGill by transferring the certificate of accreditation. The Commission de Relation du Travail transferred the accreditation to MCLIU in November 2013, making MCLIU the sole representative of course lecturers and instructors at McGill.

How the union drive started

It had become clear that McGill lecturers were underpaid and did not enjoy the same working conditions as lecturers and instructors in other universities in Quebec and Canada. Thus, in the fall of 2010, the union launched a new drive to unionize course lecturers and instructors at McGill.

Our cause was generously supported by staff unions MUNACA and AMUSE, the student unions SSMU and PGSS, and a letter of support signed by 26 McGill professors. Even before we were accredited, the McGill administration responded to our union drive by substantially raising the salaries of course lecturers and instructors. This was not an act of kindness on the part of the administration, but was rather an attempt to convince lecturers not to unionize.

By continuing to sign cards, lecturers and instructors clearly indicated to the administration that this was too little too late, and moreover, that salary was not the only issue at stake. Unionization was not just a way for course lecturers to redress inequalities in pay, but equally a means of tackling problems with working conditions that they faced on a daily basis. The union drive culminated with course lecturers and instructors becoming certified on August 30, 2011.

Since then we have pushed on ahead, putting together a bargaining proposal, the product of months of consultations with members and a thorough analysis of working conditions at other Quebec universities. Our bargaining demands were approved unanimously in December of 2011 at a general assembly, and our demands on two remaining issues – course attribution and hiring priority – were approved by an overwhelming majority at a second assembly in February of 2012.

Our first Collective Agreement was signed in October 2015.

Une courte introduction de MCLIU

Les chargé(e)s de cours et instructeurs(trices) de McGill ont été accrédités en août 2011 comme troisième unité d’AGSEM. Le 17 octobre 2013, le syndicat a voté à l’unanimité afin de permettre au Syndicat des Chargé(e)s de Cours et des Instructeurs(trices) de McGill (SCCIM) de représenter exclusivement les chargé(e)s de cours et les instructeurs(trices) employé(e)s à McGill en transférant leur certificat d’accréditation. En novembre 2013, la Commission de Relation du Travail a transféré cette accréditation à MCLIU, faisant de MCLIU le seul représentant les chargé(e)s de cours et les instructeurs(trices) de McGill.

Comment la campagne syndicale a débuté

Il était évident que les professeurs de McGill étaient sous-payés et ne jouissaient pas des mêmes conditions de travail que les professeurs et les instructeurs d’autres universités du Québec et du Canada. À l’automne 2010, le syndicat a donc lancé une nouvelle campagne afin de syndicaliser les chargé(e)s de cours et instructeurs(trices) de McGill.

Notre cause a été soutenue généreusement par le personnel des syndicats MUNACA et AMUSE, les syndicats étudiants SSMU et PGSS, et une lettre de soutien a été signée par vingt-six professeurs de McGill. Avant même notre accréditation, l’administration de McGill a répondu à notre campagne syndicale en augmentant considérablement les salaires des professeurs et des instructeurs. Ceci n’était pas un acte de gentillesse de la part de l’administration, mais plutôt une tentative de convaincre les enseignants de ne pas se syndicaliser.

En continuant à signer des cartes d’adhésion, les chargé(e)s de cours et instructeurs(trices) ont clairement indiqué à l’administration que leur réaction était un peu tardive, et de plus, que leur salaire n’était pas le seul enjeu. La syndicalisation n’était pas seulement un moyen pour les chargé(e)s de cours de corriger des inégalités de rémunération, mais également un moyen de résoudre les problèmes liés aux conditions de travail auxquels ils étaient confrontés quotidiennement. La campagne syndicale a abouti avec la certification des chargé(e)s de cours et instructeurs(trices) le 30 août 2011.

Depuis ce jour, nous avons progressé et nous avons élaboré une proposition de négociation collective, fruit de plusieurs mois de consultations avec les membres du syndicat ainsi que d’une analyse approfondie des conditions de travail au sein des autres universités québécoises. Nos revendications ont été approuvées à l’unanimité en décembre 2011 lors d’une assemblée générale, et nos demandes concernant l’attribution des cours et la priorité d’embauche ont été approuvées via une écrasante majorité lors d’une deuxième assemblée en février 2012.

Notre première convention collective a ainsi été signée en octobre 2015.